• iSANZ iSANZ Awards

  • iSANZAwards


iSANZ Awards

New Zealand's annual showcase of excellence in Information Security.

Sunday 14 November 2021 - Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Wellington.



Our mission

To formally recognise the achievements of outstanding New Zealand InfoSec professionals, companies and initiatives / events.

Our Goal

To inspire, promote and reflect on the New Zealand InfoSec industry and its people.

The Kārearea

The iSANZ emblem, representing New Zealand's native falcon - one of the bravest, most ferocious of the falcon species against intruders to the nest.


Check back soon to find out about ticketing details for the 2021 iSANZ Awards.

Our Judges

2021 iSANZ Awards Judging Lineup

Lisa Fong, GCSB Director Information Assurance and Cyber Security

Peter Gutmann, Auckland University Computer Scientist

Russell Craig, Microsoft New Zealand National Technology Officer

Catherine Soper, Genesis Energy Group Manager Government & Regulatory Affairs

Sam Sergeant, InternetNZ Chief Security Officer

Katrine Evans, Ministry of Social Development Information Sharing & Privacy Manager

Kate Pearce, Trade Me Head of Security

Chris Hails, Heartland Bank Head of Information Security

Phillipe Langlois, P1 Security Founder & CEO

Jacob Torrey, Redshield Technical Advisory Board Member

Jon Duffy, Consumer NZ Chief Executive

Adrian van Hest, Cybersecurity Expert





Entries in the 7th annual iSANZ Awards have now closed. Stay tuned for the finalists announcement. Entry categories are:

Best Security Project or Security Awareness Initiative

Sponsored by Quantum Security, this category is open to organisations who have successfully implemented an InfoSec security project or awareness initiative.

Best Security Professional CISO /Security Manager / Leader

Sponsored by McAfee, this category is open to senior security leaders holding full or part time positions as CISO, Security Manager, or similar security leadership position.

Best Start-Up or New Business

Sponsored by Spark NZ, this category is open to new information security / cyber security businesses founded in New Zealand and which have been operating for no more than five years.

Best Security Company of the Year

Sponsored by Check Point, this category is open to security companies with superior security products or solutions that help customers tackle today's most pressing InfoSec challenges.

Best New Zealand Security Service or Product

Sponsored by NEXTGEN Group, this category is open to New Zealand companies who have an "in service" Security Service or Product.

Up-and-coming Cyber Security Star

Sponsored by CyberCX, this category is open to all individuals who are a newcomer to the world of Cyber/ InfoSec in NZ with less than 3 years experience and who have made a positive and impressive impact to our community.

Hall of Fame

This nominated Award is open to a person, event or company who has made a significant contribution (above and beyond the normal standards and qualities / legacy outcomes) to the wider InfoSec community.


Make a nomination in the 2021 iSANZ Hall of Fame.

No 2020 inductee due to COVID-19.

The 2019 Hall of Fame inductee was Dr Ian Graham.

The 2018 Hall of Fame inductee was the New Zealand Internet Task Force (NZITF).

The 2017 Hall of Fame inductee was Dr Peter Gutmann.

The 2016 Hall of Fame inductee was NetSafe.

The 2015 Hall of Fame inductee was the 1st Tuesday Forum.

iSANZ News

Stay up-to-date with iSANZ news here, or on LinkedIn and Twitter

iSANZ Awards News

2021 iSANZ entries now closed. Stay tuned for the finalists announcement!

The Kārearea

Our emblem is the karearea or New Zealand falcon - a symbol for courage, victory and rising above a situation.

The New Zealand Falcon

The Falcon's adaptations include short, deep rounded wings, a long tail to maximise manoeuvrability and long legs and feet that enable it to catch small birds during surprise attacks. Its soft plumage is adapted to the forest environment, making the feathers more flexible and resistant to breaking in the rough and tumble that it often encounters when pursuing prey into thick cover.

A true New Zealand warrior you might say. Early scientists used to call it Falco ferox or ferocious falcon. These attributes make our ‘Karearea’ New Zealand falcon truly special – a unique species that has adapted to fulfil the roles that several species usually fill overseas.

Falcon Meanings and Symbolism

The Falcon is a solar emblem for success, victory and rising above a situation in Native American Indian mythology. The Falcon created a powerful, intimidating figure and was associated with warfare. In European tradition, the Falcon represents the huntsman and is associated with the Germanic sky-gIn European culture the Falcon is considered a warlike symbol.

iSANZ Sponsors

The 2021 iSANZ Awards are sponsored by Datacom, Quantum Security, McAfee, Spark NZ, Kordia, SailPoint, Check Point, NEXTGEN Group and CyberCX. Interested in sponsoring? Email us at [email protected]

iSANZ Gold

iSANZ Gold Dinner Sponsor: Datacom.


Our Supporting Partners

The 2021 iSANZ Awards are supported by Duo, NZITF, PS Duo, SiteHost and 1st Tuesday.


© iSANZ 2021-. All rights reserved. Contact us: [email protected].